14 Newtown males chipped in to seal a powerful victory

14 Newtown males chipped in to seal a powerful victory
Written by admin

Newtownshandrum received towards newcomers Kanturk within the A gaggle of Co-op Superstores Cork Premier SHC Charleville in a rain-soaked Saturday night.

There was a sense earlier than the assembly that the pendulum of energy in North Cork was swinging in Duhallow’s course, however the 14 males from Newtown tore up the script with a efficiency of ardour, satisfaction, and a panel that much less as they’re pushed to victory. with Tim O’Mahony, Jamie Coughlan and Jerry Lane excellent.

The Avondhu males have been the higher facet from the off and led by 0-10 to 0-8 after 35 minutes once they misplaced Jack Herlihy to a second yellow card. The stage seemed set for Kanturk to drive of their favour, however Newtown dug in, a lot to the delight of their selector, Shane Naughton.

“We now have a response to every part. If we get a crimson card, if the opposition will get it; no matter it’s, we’re prepared for it. We now have an enormous job on the again with this crew and one other scenario each is roofed and we’re snug with that as a result of we do it usually,” he stated.

“Sadly for Jack, he obtained two yellows, however we have been in a position to test ourselves and are available again and take management of the sport and go for the subsequent 10 minutes after he was despatched off.”

Initially, the perimeters have been red-carded, as Jamie Coughlan and Tim O’Mahony pointed frees for Newtown whereas Ian Walsh pointed for Kanturk and Brian O’Sullivan made it 65 after James Bowles saved. double to Liam O. ‘Keeffe and Alan Walsh.

Newtown then took over with scores from Seán Griffin, Cormac O’Brien and three from Jamie Coughlan giving them a 0-17 to 0-10 lead with seven remaining. O’Sullivan lastly stopped the rot for Kanturk together with his sixth level however O’Mahony responded with a long-range free that stored Newtown on their toes regardless of Alan Walsh hit for the again purpose.

From then on, the load of expectation appeared to hamper Kanturk as they struggled to restart, Avondhu’s facet pressed for something brief as O’Mahony and Conor Twomey bid for time. it’s lengthy.

The Cork star had the primary factors of the night time, Jerry Lane doubling their lead earlier than Brian O’Sullivan put Kanturk away with the primary free. O’Sullivan traded factors with David O’Connor earlier than Conor Griffen gave Newtown a 0-5 to 0-2 lead on the finish of the opening quarter.

Ryan Walsh scored Kanturk’s first factors of the sport, however additional factors from Twomey and Cathal Naughton pushed the Avondhu facet 4 clear. O’Sullivan diminished the deficit with one other free, however Lane prolonged Newtown’s lead once more earlier than Naughton discovered himself on the right track for Grantis Bucinkas to save lots of nicely.

The save sparked Kanturk briefly as they managed to attain back-to-back targets for the primary time within the sport by means of O’Sullivan and Lorcán McLoughlin, however Twomey would have the ultimate say within the half as his second level gave his crew 0-9 to 0. -6 division lead.

Coughlan had Newtown’s first factors from a free on the restart, however factors from Aidan and Alan Walsh quickly diminished the margin to 2 factors. Then got here Herlihy’s crimson card which introduced the perfect out of his pals as they now face county champions Midleton subsequent week, whereas Kanturk, Douglas’ problem stays disappointing.

Newtownshandrum contributors: J Coughlan (0-6, 0-3 frees, 0-1 ’65), T O’Mahony (0-3, 0-2 frees), J Lane and C Twomey (0-2 every), CO’ Brien, D O’Connor, C Griffen, C Naughton and S Griffin (0-1 every).

Kanturk Winners: B O’Sullivan (0-6, 0-4 frees, 0-2 ’65s), Alan Walsh (1-1), Aidan Walsh, R Walsh, I Walsh and L McLoughlin (0-1 every) .

NEWTOWNSHANDRUM: J Bowles; Ok O’Sullivan, P O’Sullivan, M Ryan; J Herlihy, T O’Mahony (c), C Twomey; C O’Brien, D Hawe; J Coughlan, J Lane, D O’Connor; C Naughton, R Geary, C Griffen. Subs: S Griffin for Naughton (42 minutes), J Twomey for Griffen (50 minutes), M Bowles for Coughlan, (inj, 57 minutes), M Thompson for O’Connor (60 minutes).

Musicians: G Bucinkas; J McLoughlin, R Walsh, P Walsh; T Walsh, D Browne (c), J Browne; B O’Sullivan, L O’Neill; L McLoughlin, Aidan Walsh I Walsh; L O’Keeffe, Alan Walsh, C Walsh. Subs: C Clernon for O’Neill and C Mullane for L McLoughlin (each 50 minutes).

Referee: Mark Maher (St Finbarr’s).

About the author


Leave a Comment